Oh , Bother!!

Standard

I had a friend back in the 80’s who called me about once a year after she moved away. And only once a year. We weren’t that close but she felt the need to stay connected in those days way before Mark Zuckerberg came up with the brilliant idea of Facebook. Because her call was a once a year event,we would keep that phone stuck to the side of our heads for hours as we shared all the great happenings of the past year. This was a friendship that also happened before the day of cell phones…..or cordless phones for that matter. So our catch up sessions would require us to stay put, as close to the wall where our phone was mounted as possible. These phones were fabulous in the 80’s but they did not take into account whatsoever that sometimes a momma could get a phone call while her precious 2 year old was wide awake and ready for action!

images (1)

Momma’s should know better, right?

When my phone rang that day , sweet Megan was wide awake and ready to play. I could see the mischief in her eyes. I knew better. I truly did. But have you ever had that friend you just could not get to be quiet long enough for you to say, “Hey, I really need to go. My daughter wants me to play.”

It went on for about an hour. Megan would pull on my pants trying to get me away from the phone and interested in her See ‘n Say or her dolls or a game of Hide and Seek and I would give her that look that said “Not now Honey. What I’m doing is more important ” and I’d basically shoo her away, trying really hard not to show my frustration with her constant interruptions. I mean come on. This was a friend I worked with for about 5 minutes and never did anything social with  beyond a 1 year old birthday party. That party must’ve been the clincher that made us BFF’s. So I was justified in putting my beloved first born way down the priority list when my “5 minute friend” needed me. Right? No need to answer that question!

 get-attachment (1)

(Megan was very grateful to have her cousin over to play….especially when Mommy wouldn’t stop talking on that weird phone!)

Into the second hour of this once a year call, Megan got really quiet . I figured she had gone into my bedroom and had fallen asleep waiting on me to finally be ready to give her my undivided attention.

I should’ve known better.

My friend and I finally said our good byes. I held my breath and opened my bedroom door. Part of me wanted to believe the quiet from the room was truly a nap going down. Megan was surely exhausted from all the work she had done interrupting my phone call! But my daughter was 2. What greeted me in my bedroom was the result of a very bored 2 year old who had unsupervised access to an open jar of Vaseline, a brand new box of band aids, some loose potpourri and a sucker! On my TV…..on my dresser…..on my bathroom mirror….on my bedside tables….on my brand new comforter. My sweet Megan had left her mark in my space with her very sticky , suckered up, Vaseline covered potpourri fingers. She left very distinct evidence of her presence in my room…..and a very real mark on this neglectful Mommy’s heart.

 megsucker

(Look at that face!   Megan on her 2nd birthday…..with a sucker.  But she was having dreamy  thoughts of all the fun she could have with  bandaids and that bag of smelly good stuff in Mom’s room!)

Life goes on around us whether we’re paying attention or not. And every now and then, something attempts to interrupt us so we can notice that life.

Oh my! I don’t like interruptions. I get a groove going. I get honed in. I’m finally traveling down the right road. Things are going my way. Then……

BAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The dreaded interruption…..

It can be as simple as writing a blog post then the phone rings and it’s a kid needing something brought to him at school right now. Or as big as losing a job right when you’re finally starting to make some headway on that mound of debt.

What if these annoyances in our life were really God trying to get our attention….trying to change our path…trying to help us see things with new eyes? Would He do something like that? Are we really a big enough spec on the radar of the Creator of the Universe that He would take time to yank on us and say “Hey, look over here. I need your attention.”

You bet your sweet patooties! GOD INTERRUPTS US!!! And how do we respond? Do we turn our attention away from what we’re doing, roll our eyes at Him, and then shoo Him away? Or do we drop everything and start paying attention to what He’s trying to tell us?

Chances are good that the more often we ignore that Divine Tug, the bigger the mess we’re gonna encounter when it’s all said and done If I had excused myself from that truly unimportant phone call that day and given my attention to Megan, I would not have had that mess of sticky, nastiness to clean up in  my bedroom. Chances are, if I had hung up the phone, Megan and I would’ve had a fun afternoon playing with dolls, going to the park and playing hide and seek.

What good things are we missing when we shoo God away?

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me and I will listen to you. You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the Lord, and will bring you back from captivity”…Jeremiah 29:11-14a

Thank You Lord that You can take our interruptions and not be annoyed by them. Thank You that anytime we call upon You, You answer….anytime we seek You, You make Yourself easy to find. Help us Lord to handle the interruptions in our life, those Divine Tugs, with the grace that only You can give us. Give us eyes to see the interruptions as opportunities and help us to never ever ever make anyone feel less than who they are by our response, especially You ….In Jesus Name….

4 responses »

    • Thanks for the encouragement Kelly! No, I haven’t heard from my 5 minute friend in many many years. We lost contact when I moved to Georgia. I’d try to find her on Facebook, but honestly, I can’t remember her last name.

Leave a Reply

