All Things New

Standard

Me: “Your room is a catastrophe! Get in here and clean it up right now!”

Any of my three sons: “Oh mom, my room is FINE! Do I really need to clean it? It’s not even that messy! Just shut the door and you can’t see it. ”

Me: “Until you get a job and pay the mortgage, your room is MINE and if I say it needs to be cleaned up, it needs to be cleaned up! Now get in here now and clean this catastrophe of a room before I have it condemned!!”

Any of my three sons: “ UGH!! FINE!!”

This is followed by an appropriate amount of eye rolling, huffing, and door slamming. I’m not sure what THEY do once they’re behind closed doors, but I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve had to count to a gazillion just to calm down after a “get in here and clean your room” encounter!

And so it goes, day after day, week after week, month after month. The battle of the clean bedroom. The battle of trying to enforce the use of hangers and closets and drawers. The battle to get stuff up off the floor and into a proper space.

The battle of their will against mine.

I had totally planned on making this post about something completely different….a story from my past. But as I said in my introduction, I’ll write what God prompts me to write when He prompts me to write it. He’s had a change of plans! Five days ago, my neck of the woods had the coldest temps in recent Georgia history. We’re talking wind chills below zero. Real temps as low as 2.

T W O!!!

Two is my favorite age when it comes to kids. Two is nowhere near my favorite number when it comes to the temperature outside. As it turns out 2 is also not a very popular temperature for those pipes hidden inside the walls of my house. One of them just couldn’t take a joke and it froze….then burst….then had the nerve to spill water through the walls into my house. In just a few short hours, this tiny little pipe had spilled enough water…unnoticed of course… into Josh’s room, Noah’s room, their bathroom, down the hallway and into the dining room. So rude!!!

Here’s that overly sensitive, rude pipe…

IMG_3660

One third of our house was under water. We weren’t doing the backstroke into the garage or anything but it was about ankle deep in some spots. Ankle deep water in your house is just as shocking as finding knee deep water. It’s not suppose to be there. Socks, shoes and all sorts of clothing were soaked on those floors. Bookbags, binders, paper, pencils…..all drenched. Everything that so wrongly lived on the floors of those two bedrooms was ruined.

My home , according to the our great insurance company, is now considered a “catastrophe zone”. After years of claiming my childrens’ rooms to be catastrophes because of too much junk scattered around and out of place, I now truly know with first hand experience what a catastrophe really looks like….and I’m not a fan!!

IMG_3671

Not a fan….

IMG_3677

Still not a fan…..(though this is actually a picture OF a fan…LOL)

IMG_3678

NOT….A….FAN!!!!

OK….so is anyone but me struck by the fact that the words “flood” and “Noah” have come together in this little story. I’ve so got to go there so bear with me !!

I am going to bring flood waters on the earth to destroy all life under the heavens, every creature that has breath of life in it. Everything on earth will perish. But I will establish my covenant with you …..” These, of course, are God’s words to Noah found in Genesis 6: 17-18a

God used those flood waters to get rid of the bad and keep the good. He used that mess of water to RENEW the face of the earth….to start the population over with animals and people He saw as righteous.

In my own little world, this flood caused by that silly weak pipe has created chaos in my home. It’s destroyed several square feet of living space , ironically the messiest square footage in my home! Everything in the path of that small torrent of water is misplaced or gone forever.

As the carpet, padding and baseboards were ripped out of my home…..as the bathroom was gutted and sheet rock cut into, it hit me that this is all part of the process of renewal. When this nightmare is over, my home will have brand new carpet and tile. I’ll have new baseboards, freshly painted walls. The sink and cabinets in the bathroom will sparkle with newness. The BOYS ROOMS WILL BE CLEAN!!! Hallelujah! Praise the Lord! Let revival begin!!

When I think back on my life and all the minor “catastrophes” I have endured and lived to tell about (this is the only flood I’ve experienced) , on the other side of each one was something better. Something new. Something perfectly sent by my God who hears my cry for help and comes racing to my rescue.  I’ll write about some of these times in my life a bit later.  But for now I leave you with this truth…..

He makes all things new and beautiful in His time!   Hold on….hang tight. It might be a tough ride, an uncomfortable one but he will make something beautiful out of your mess!

images

Leave a Reply

